Celebrate the First Day of Summer at Your Library!

It’s officially summer time in Terrebonne Parish! That means it’s time for swimming, playing outside, and participating in the Terrebonne Parish Library’s annual Summer Reading Program.

Terrebonne Parish Library kicked off its annual Summer Reading Program on May 27th, but it’s not too late to join. By reading for just 20 minutes a day, library users of all ages can earn coupons and the chance to win big prizes (bikes for kindergarten to sixth grade, and Kindle Fire tablets for teens and adults). Be sure to drop by any of the nine library branches or visit
www.mytpl.org/srp to sign up!

And now that the temperature is rising, cool off by diving into some of my favorite books about summer. All three books are available through the Terrebonne Parish Library System, and you can reserve a copy today at www.mytpl.org.

Preschool
Jump
Written and Illustrated
by Scott M. Fischer

Not only are books good for our brains, they can also be good for our bodies. Interactive books like Jump are sure to get young readers on their feet and moving. Wake your kids out of their summer stupor with Jump, a story of different critters taking naps in the sunshine until they are interrupted by a bigger animal. This book works best when it is read out loud with your listeners jumping along.

K-3rd
Come on, Rain!
Written by Karen Hesse Illustrated by John J. Muth

Summer days mean lots of hot, broiling heat. In Come On, Rain, readers follow along with Tessie as she begs the rain to come to cool her off. Beautiful watercolor illustrations and Tessie’s story will have you longing for a glass of lemonade in the shade as you wait with her for the storm to roll in. Readers will rejoice with Tessie and her friends when the clouds break and cool rain drenches their neighborhood.

 

 

4th-6th
Sunny Side Up
By Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

Summertime means relaxing at home and family vacations to the beach. Not so much for Sunny Lewin. Instead of sleeping in and watching reruns on TV, she is sent to live with her grandpa at his retirement community in Florida. Readers of this graphic novel will get to spend the summer alongside Sunny as she meets new friends, finds lost cats, and tries to unravel the truth behind why she was sent along to live with her grandfather. This is a great book for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Gene Luen Yang’s American Born Chinese.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Input your search keywords and press Enter.